Databases Search Results
Global commodities trade, exploration & cultural exchange
Title
Global commodities [electronic resource] : trade, exploration & cultural exchange, ca. 1515-2012 1740-1950.
Published
Marlborough, England : Adam Matthew Digital, c2014.
Physical Description
1 online resource
Local Notes
Primary remote access for Yale University authorized users is through EZproxy; resource may also be accessed through Yale's Virtual Private Network (VPN).
Access is available to the Yale community.
Notes
Title from home page; viewed on Feb. 26, 2014.
Includes material from the following collections: George Arents Collection on Tobacco (New York Public Library); Braga Brothers Collection (University of Florida, George A. Smathers Libraries); Hudson's Bay Company Archives.
Includes material about the following companies: Harveys of Bristol, Canton Tea, Divine Chocolate, The Fairtrade Foundation, Imperial Tobacco, W.D. & H.O. Wills, Cadburys, Frys, East India Company, Dutch East India Company, Hudson's Bay Company, Braga Brothers, Czarnikow Rionda Company.
Includes material on the following topics: globalisation, commodities, material culture, advertising and marketing, consumerism, Fairtrade, trade and commerce, exploration and discovery, ecology and the environment.
Reproduced from original materials held in the following repositories: American Antiquarian Society; Bodleian Library; Bristol Record Office; British Library; California Historical Society; Field Museum Library, Chicago; George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida; Glenbow Museum; Harvard College Library; Historical Society of Pennsylvania; Houston University Library; Hudson's Bay Company Archives; Library Company of Philadelphia; Liverpool John Moores University; Massachusetts Historical Society; Mauritshuis, den Haag; Merseyside Maritime Museum; Nantucket Historial Association; National Gallery of Art, Washington; The National Archives; National Gallery, London; Newberry Library, Chicago; New York Public Library; Robert Opie Collection; Plymouth Museum and Art Gallery; Princeton University Art Museum; School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London; Senate House Library, University of London; Städel Museum, Frankfurt.
Access and use
Access restricted by licensing agreement.
Summary
Global commodities provides access to printed and manuscript sources, visual material, ephemera and objects associated with the history of commodities such as chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, oil, opium, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, wine and spirits, and others.
Variant and related titles
Global commodities : trade, exploration & cultural exchange.
Format
Databases / Online
Language
English
Added to Catalog
January 02, 2013
Subjects
Also listed under
Adam Matthew Digital (Firm)
Arents Tobacco Collection.
Braga Brothers Collection.
Hudson's Bay Company. Archives.
Adam Matthew Education (Firm)
Bookmark As
Citation
