Databases Search Results
Confidential print. Latin America, 1833-1969
Title
Confidential print. Latin America, 1833-1969 [electronic resource], 1597-1969 1833-1956.
Published
Marlborough, England : Adam Matthew Digital, c2012.
Physical Description
1 online resource
Local Notes
Primary remote access for Yale University authorized users is through EZproxy; resource may also be accessed through Yale's Virtual Private Network (VPN).
Access is available to the Yale community.
Notes
Title from Introduction page (viewed on 29 July, 2012)
At head of title: Archives Direct, sources from the National Archives, UK.
Files included in this section: FO 118 (1906-1913), FO 177 (1891), FO 420 (1833-1941), FO 461 (1958-1969), FO 467 (1947-1951), FO 486 (1947-1956), FO 495 (1947-1956), FO 497 (1947-1956), FO 508 (1908-1909), FO 533 (1947-1957)
Includes material relating to the following people: George Hamilton-Gordon, 4th Earl of Aberdeen; Arturo Alessandri; Jacobo Arbenz; Clement Attlee, 1st Earl Attlee; Manuel Avila; José Balmaceda; Fulgencio Batista; José Batlle; Luis Batlle; Lázaro Cárdenas; Fidel Castro; Luis Alves de Lima e Silva, Duke of Caxias; Sir Winston Churchill; Joaquín Crespo; Porfirio Díaz; Sir Anthony Eden, 1st Earl of Avon; (Manuel) Deodoro da Fonseca; Giuseppe Garibaldi; William Gladstone; Juán Vicente Gómez; João Goulart; Ernesto ('Che') Guevara; Carlos Ibáñez; Benito Juárez; Juscelino Kubitschek; Ferdinand de Lesseps; David Lloyd George, 1st Earl Lloyd-George of Dwyfor; Francisco Solano López; Ramsay MacDonald; Harold Macmillan, 1st Earl of Stockton; José Martí; Maximilian of Mexico; Bartolomé Mitre; Jorge Montt; Tomás Cipriano de Mosquera; Rafael Núñez; Bernardo O'Higgins; Henry Temple, 3rd Viscount Palmerston; Víctor Paz Estenssoro; (María) Eva Perón; Juan Perón; Julio Argentino Roca; Juan Manuel de Rosas; Archibald Primrose, 5th Earl of Rosebery; John Russell, 1st Earl Russell; Alfredo Stroessner; Rafael Trujillo; Getulio Vargas; (Juan) Hipólito Yrigoyen; Emiliano Zapata.
Includes documents concerning political and diplomatic activity in relation to the following topics: army, assassination, boundary, business, Christianity, civil war, communism, constitution, coup d'tat, dictatorship, education, elections, empire, Estado Novo (Brazil), exile, filibustering, guano, independence, industry, invasion, investment, justice, labour, land reform, loans, migration, missionaries, nationalism, Native Americans, navy, oil, Panama Canal, parliament, Peronism (justicialism), piracy, political parties, populism, privateering, railways, revolution, separatism, siege, slave trade, slavery, socialism, sugar, trade, trade unions, war, League of Nations, United Nations.
National Archives, Kew
Access and use
Access restricted by licensing agreement.
Summary
Confidential print, Latin America brings together documents relating to Latin America generated by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices between 1833 and 1969. Some of these were single page letters or telegrams, others were large volumes or texts of treaties.
Variant and related titles
Latin America, 1833-1969
Format
Databases / Online
Language
English
Added to Catalog
February 22, 2013
Subjects
Also listed under
Great Britain. Colonial Office.
National Archives (Great Britain)
Adam Matthew Digital (Firm)
Bookmark As
Citation
