Databases Search Results
Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963 : records of the U.S. State Department Central classified files
Title
Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963 : records of the U.S. State Department Central classified files.
Publication
[Farmington Hills, Mich.] : Gale, Cengage Learning, [2010]
Physical Description
1 online resource (9,674 images).
Local Notes
Primary remote access for Yale University authorized users is through EZproxy; resource may also be accessed through Yale's Virtual Private Network (VPN).
Access is available to the Yale community.
Notes
Date range of documents: 1945-1963.
Digital collection of documents from the U.S. State Department Central classified files held by the U.S. National Archives.
Publisher's Note: This collection comprises, in their entirety, the Scholarly Resources microfilm collections entitled Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs, Afghanistan, 1945-1949; Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs, Afghanistan, 1960-1963; and, Records of the Department of State relating to political relations, U.S. and Afghanistan, 1930-1959.
Title from home page (viewed on Sept. 19, 2011).
Last viewed March 20, 2020.
Contained in (manifestation): Archives unbound
Access and use
Access restricted by licensing agreement.
Summary
"Afghanistan's history, internal political development, foreign relations, and very existence as an independent state have largely been determined by its geographic location at the crossroads of Central, West, and South Asia. In modern times, as well as in antiquity, vast armies of the world passed through Afghanistan, temporarily establishing local control and often dominating Iran and northern India. Islam has played a key role in the formation of Afghanistan as well. Although it was the scene of great empires and flourishing trade for over two millennia, Afghanistan did not become a truly independent nation until the twentieth century. In much of the twentieth century, Afghanistan remained neutral. It was not a participant in World War II, nor aligned with either power bloc in the Cold War. However, it was a beneficiary of the latter rivalry as both the Soviet Union and the U.S. vied for influence by building such infrastructure works as roads, airports, water and sewer systems, and hospitals.... This collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to internal and foreign affairs contain a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats, including: special reports on political and military affairs, studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters; interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials, court proceedings and other legal documents; voluminous reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers; countless translations of high-level foreign government documents, including speeches, memoranda, official reports, and transcripts of political meetings and assemblies; full texts of important letters, instructions, and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel, etcetera."--Opening screen.
In
Contained in (manifestation): Archives unbound|DELIM|
Variant and related titles
Afghanistan and the United States, 1945-1963 : records of the U.S. State Department Central classified files
Records of the U.S. State Department. Central classified files, Afghanistan, 1945-1963
Format
Databases / Online
Language
English
Added to Catalog
March 08, 2013
Series
Archives unbound
Subjects
Genre/Form
Archives.
Records and correspondence.
Sources.
Records (Documents)
Databases.
Also listed under
United States. Department of State, author.
United States. National Archives and Records Administration, owner.
Bookmark As
Citation
