Primary remote access for Yale University authorized users is through EZproxy; resource may also be accessed through Yale's Virtual Private Network (VPN).

Access is available to the Yale community.

Published by Thomson Gale, <2006-> ; by Gale, <Sept. 25, 2012->

Many documents are in English, but the resource also includes materials in Danish, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish, and Welsh.

Description based on contents viewed on March 30, 2020; title from home page.

The Making of the Modern World: Part I, The Goldsmiths'-Kress Collection, 1450-1850 offers ways of understanding the expansion of world trade, the Industrial Revolution, and the development of modern capitalism, supporting research in variety of disciplines. This collection follows the development of the modern western world through the lens of trade and wealth -- the driving force behind many of the major historical events during the period (1450-1850). Users have access to an abundance of rare books and primary source materials, many of which are the only known copy of the work.

The Making of the Modern World: Part II, 1851-1914 takes The Making of the Modern World series to the end of the nineteenth century. Comprised mainly of monographs, reports, correspondence, speeches, and surveys, this collection broadens Gale's international coverage of social, economic, and business history, as well as political science, technology, industrialization, and the birth of the modern corporation. In page after page of primary source documents, researchers can evaluate the profound impact of the Industrial Revolution on the political and social conditions of nineteenth-century workers, factory owners and national economies.

The Making of the Modern World: Part III, 1890-1945 takes The Making of the Modern World is a collection of monographs and periodicals on political economy, trade finance, industry, business, labour, and related subjects. The volumes in the product are primarily in English, but also in French, German, and other Western languages. The archive supports research on critical topics such as world trade, finance and capital formation, transportation and the growth of cities, industrialisation, imperialism and colonialism, socialism, labour and poverty, and other areas of study. This collection is comprised exclusively of monographs and periodicals in the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature, which is held at the Senate House Library of the University of London, offering transnational coverage in an area of vital interest to historians--political economy. The works included are of interest to scholars in European and world history and meet the desire for more twentieth century content taking the collection past the First World War, the Great Depression, and the Second World War.

The Making of the Modern World: Part IV, offers definitive coverage of the "Age of Capital," the industrial revolution, and the High Victorian Era, when the foundations of modern-day capitalism and global trade were established. It includes unique material at the Senate House Library, University of London, that was not previously available; subsequent library acquisitions have broadened the scope of the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature beyond economics. The core of the collection--1850s-1890--offers rich content in the high Victorian period, the apogee of the British Empire. It is especially strong in "grey literature" and non-mainstream materials rarely preserved by libraries--including pamphlets, plans, ephemera, and private collections.

Also known as: MOME

Also known as: MOMW

Subtitle on homepage, <July 7, 2011>: Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature

Making of the modern world. Part I, Goldsmiths'-Kress Collection, 1450-1850.

Making of the modern world. Part II, 1851-1914.

Making of the modern world. Part III, 1890-1945.

Making of the modern world. Part IV, 1800-1890.

Part I. Making of the modern world, 1450-1850

Part II. Making of the modern world, 1851-1914

Part III. Making of the modern world, 1890-1945

Part IV. Making of the modern world, 1800-1890

Economic history > Early works to 1800 > Databases.

Economic history > Sources > Databases.

Databases.

Early works.

History.

Sources.

Databases.

Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature.

Kress Collection of Business and Economics.

Seligman Collection (Columbia University)

Yale University. Library.

Gale (Firm), publisher.