Databases Search Results
Foreign Office files for the Middle East, 1971-1981
Title
Foreign Office files for the Middle East, 1971-1981.
Publication
Marlborough, Wiltshire, UK : Adam Matthew Digital, 2016-
Physical Description
1 online resource.
Local Notes
Primary remote access for Yale University authorized users is through EZproxy; resource may also be accessed through Yale's Virtual Private Network (VPN).
Access is available to the Yale community.
Notes
At head of title: Archives Direct, sources from the National Archives, UK.
Includes material relating to the following organisations: Saudi Arabian Oil Company (ARAMCO), Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC), North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), Central Treaty Organisation (CENTO), Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), United Nations (UN), European Economic Community (EEC), Palestinian Liberation Organisation (PLO), British Petroleum Company (BP), Jaguar, British Leyland.
Includes documents concerning political and diplomatic activity in relation to the following topics: withdrawal of British forces and declarations of independence in the Persian Gulf; formation of United Arab Emirates; rebellion in Oman and North and South Yemen; visits of British political figures; foreign dignitaries in Britain; sale of British military equipment; Grivas and the Cyprus coup; Cyprus peace talks and annual reviews; Middle Eastern internal and external political affairs; sale, supply and policies relating to crude oil, petroleum and gas; British energy supply; personality profiles and annual reviews of the political climate in the Middle East; Arab-Israeli War and peace talks; despatches from British diplomats in the Middle East.
National Archives, Kew.
Contained in (work): Archives direct. Marlborough, Wiltshire, UK : AM, Adam Matthew, [2010?]-
Access and use
Access restricted by licensing agreement.
Summary
Foreign Office files for the Middle East provides data on the policies, economies, political relationships and significant events in Middle East countries. The documents are sourced from the UK National Archives, and include analyses, annual reviews and diplomatic correspondence.
Variant and related titles
Archives Direct. Foreign Office files for the Middle East, 1971-1981
Title from title bar: Archives Direct - Adam Matthew Digital
Also known as: FO Middle East - Archives Direct
Format
Databases / Online
Language
English
Added to Catalog
August 29, 2017
Series
Archives direct
Contents
Module 1: Middle East, 1971-1974: The 1973 Arab-Israeli War and the Oil Crisis
Module 2: Middle East, 1975-1978: The Lebanese Civil War and the Camp David Accords
Module 3: Middle East, 1979-1981: The Iranian Revolution and the Iran-Iraq War.
Subjects
Genre/Form
Databases.
Archives.
History.
Sources.
Also listed under
Great Britain. Foreign Office, curator.
Great Britain. Ministry of Defence, curator.
Adam Matthew Digital (Firm), issuing body.
National Archives (Great Britain), current owner.
Bookmark As
Citation
