Databases Search Results
Missionary archives from Lesotho, 1832-2006
Title
Missionary archives from Lesotho, 1832-2006.
Publication
Leiden, The Netherlands ; Boston, MA : Brill Online Primary Sources, 2015.
Local Notes
Primary remote access for Yale University authorized users is through EZproxy; resource may also be accessed through Yale's Virtual Private Network (VPN).
Access is available to the Yale community.
Notes
"Archives of the Morija Museum Lesotho and other documents"--Brill products page.
In English, French, and Sotho language.
Description based on online resource; title from resource home page (viewed on July 28, 2016)
Contained in (manifestation): BrillOnline primary sources
Access and use
Access restricted by licensing agreement.
Summary
"Missionary Archives from Lesotho, 1832-2006 contains both the ethnographic and historical archives of the first missionary in Lesotho, D.F. Ellenberger, as well as the complete run of the bi-weekly magazine, the Leselinyana, from 1863 till 2006. The collection also includes historical maps, church archives, personal registers (birth, baptism, and marriage), missionaries’ correspondence, and it features the first written documents from the region. The collection is an important source for historians, theologians, anthropologists, ethnographers and linguists, working on Southern Africa or with an interest in Southern Africa.
Variant and related titles
BrillOnline primary sources.
Leselinyana la Lesotho.
Format
Databases / Online
Language
English; French; Sotho
Added to Catalog
August 13, 2020
Subjects
Genre/Form
Archives.
Church history.
History.
Newspapers.
Sources.
Databases.
Also listed under
Morija Museum & Archives, owner.
Bookmark As
Citation
