Databases Search Results
Visual history archive
Title
Visual history archive.
Publication
[Los Angeles, Calif.] : USC Shoah Foundation Institute for Visual History and Education
Physical Description
1 online resource + user guide
Extent
Began in 2001.
Local Notes
Primary remote access for Yale University authorized users is through EZproxy; resource may also be accessed through Yale’s Virtual Private Network (VPN).
Access is available to the Yale community.
Notes
"In order to integrate testimonies recorded and owned by other organizations into the Visual History Archive, USC Shoah Foundation has initiated the Preserving the Legacy program. Partners in the program include Jewish Family and Children's Services (JFCS) Holocaust Center; a consortium of nine Canadian archives; the Holocaust Memorial Center Zekelman Family Campus; Holocaust Museum Houston; Florida Holocaust Museum; Museum of Jewish Heritage; and the Richard G. Hovannisian Armenian Genocide Oral History Collection."--Home page, viewed January 31, 2019.
In English and 43 other languages. Transcripts of the German language testimonies are available, as well as English subtitles for the non-English Rwandan genocide and Nanjing massacre testimonies.
Published by the Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Foundation <April 5, 2005>; USC Shoah Foundation Institute for Visual History and Education <2006->
Title from home page (viewed Oct. 30, 2017).
Access and use
Access restricted by licensing agreement.
Summary
Contains more than 54,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. The interviews have been conducted in 65 countries and 43 languages. Testimonies have index terms at one-minute segments. Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Visual History Archive has expanded to include testimonies from the Armenian Genocide that coincided with World War I, the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, the Cambodian Genocide of 1975-1979, the Guatemalan Genocide of 1978-1983, the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, and the ongoing conflicts in the Central African Republic and South Sudan, and anti-Rohingya mass violence. It also includes testimonies about contemporary acts of violence against Jews.
Former titles
Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Foundation visual history archive <April 5, 2005>
Variant and related titles
Also known as: Shoah Foundation's visual history archive project
USC Shoah Foundation's visual history archive
USC Shoah Foundation visual history archive
Shoah visual history archive
Visual history archive online
VHA online
Other formats
Also published in print format, on CD-ROM, and documentary film for educational purposes.
Format
Databases / Online
Language
English; Multiple languages
Added to Catalog
May 04, 2021
Subjects
Genre/Form
History.
Interviews.
Personal narratives.
Also listed under
Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Foundation.
USC Shoah Foundation.
Jewish Family and Children's Services of San Francisco, the Peninsula, Marin, and Sonoma Counties.
Holocaust Memorial Center.
Holocaust Museum Houston.
Florida Holocaust Museum.
Museum of Jewish Heritage (New York, N. Y.)
Bookmark As
Citation
