CJKV-English Dictionary of Confucian, Daoist, and intellectual historical terms

Databases Search Results

Title

CJKV-English Dictionary of Confucian, Daoist, and intellectual historical terms edited by Charles Muller

Publication

[Japan] [A. Charles Muller] 1995-

Physical Description

1 online resource

Frequency

Updated monthly

Extent

Established online: July 1995

Local Notes

Primary remote access for Yale University authorized users is through EZproxy; resource may also be accessed through Yale's Virtual Private Network (VPN).

Access is available to the Yale community.

Notes

All general information and lists in both English and Chinese

Description based on contents viewed on January 28, 2020; title from database home page

Access and use

Access restricted by licensing agreement.

Summary

The Chinese-Japanese-Korean-Vietnamese/English Dictionary [CJKV-E] is a compilation of Chinese ideographs, as well as ideograph-comprised compound words, text names, person names, etc., found primarily in the Confucian and Daoist classics. The compilation originally started out as a single work initiated by Charles Muller in 1986, and separated in late 90's as the Digital Dictionary of Buddhism [DDB] and Chinese-Japanese-Korean-Vietnamese/English Dictionary [CJKV-E]. As distinguished from the numerous computer-aggregated East Asian language dictionaries proliferating on the Web, each of the entries in this CJKV-E dictionary is human-edited, and usually contains far more detailed information than any other comparable lexicon, being developed while consulting a wide range of authoritative Chinese, Korean, and Japanese sources, and usually through the direct reading of primary classical texts

Variant and related titles

Han Ri Han Yue-Ying ci dian

漢日韓越-英辭典

CJKV-E

Chinese-Japanese-Korean-Vietnamese/English Dictionary

Format

Databases / Online

Language

English; Chinese

Added to Catalog

August 13, 2021

Subjects