Imperial Russian newspapers / presented by Center for Research Libraries, Global Resources Network.

[Minneapolis, Minnesota] : East View Information Services

1 online resource

Updated irreglarly?

Began in 2021.

Unrestricted online access.

"From the first newspapers established by Peter the Great to the fall of the Romanovs, the Imperial Russian Newspapers collection chronicles 189 years of Russian history. From Peter the Great's founding of the Russian empire, through the empire's expansion during Catherine the Great, the abolishment of serfdom by Alexander II, the tumultuous years of Nicholas II, and everything in between. The Imperial Russian Newspapers collection comprises out-of-copyright newspapers spanning the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, up to the 1917 Bolshevik Revolution. With no less than 500,000 pages, the collection's core titles are from Moscow and St. Petersburg, complemented by regional newspapers across the vast Russian Empire. The collection also includes two e-book editions (full-text searchable) of pertinent reference books: an in-depth bibliographic record of all known newspapers published in Imperial Russia (over 10 key bibliographies) and a unique collection of dozens of contemporaneous (mostly nineteenth century) reference works offering detailed subject bibliographies of the articles appearing in the specific newspapers of the Imperial Russian Newspapers collection"--About the collection, viewed April 22, 2021.

Global press archive. Imperial Russian newspapers

Databases / Online

Russian; English

March 21, 2022