Databases Search Results
Comprehensive English-Yiddish dictionary (based on the lexical research of Mordkhe Schaechter) = Arumnemiḳ English-Yidish ṿerṭerbukh (bazirṭ af di leḳsishe zamlungen fun Mortkhe Shekhṭer)
Title
Comprehensive English-Yiddish dictionary (based on the lexical research of Mordkhe Schaechter) = Arumnemiḳ English-Yidish ṿerṭerbukh (bazirṭ af di leḳsishe zamlungen fun Mortkhe Shekhṭer) / Gitl Schaechter-Viswanath, Paul Glasser, Editors in Chief ; Chava Lapin, Associate Editor.
Comprehensive English-Yiddish dictionary (based on the lexical research of Mordkhe Schaechter) = ארומנעמיק ענגליש-יידיש ווערטערבוך (באזירט אויף די לעקסישע זאמלונגען פון מרדכי שעכטער) / Gitl Schaechter-Viswanath, Paul Glasser, Editors in Chief ; Chava Lapin, Associate Editor.
ISBN
9780253023308
0253023300
9780253022820
0253022827
Publication
Bloomington : Indiana University Press, [2016]
Physical Description
1 online resource (xxi, 826 pages)
Local Notes
Access is available to the Yale community.
Primary remote access for Yale University authorized users is through EZproxy; resource may also be accessed through Yale’s Virtual Private Network (VPN).
Notes
Text in English and Yiddish.
Access and use
Access restricted by licensing agreement.
Summary
The Comprehensive English-Yiddish Dictionary is a project of the League for Yiddish. It emphasizes Yiddish as a living language. The late Mordkhe Schaechter collected and researched spoken and literary Yiddish in all its varieties; this landmark dictionary reflects his vision for present-day and future Yiddish usage. This dictionary will serve all who are interested in the Yiddish language: professors, researchers, students, writers and actors, as well as those who simply want to speak Yiddish on a regular basis.
Variant and related titles
Arumnemiḳ English-Yidish ṿerṭerbukh (bazirṭ af di leḳsishe zamlungen fun Mortkhe Shekhṭer)
ארומנעמיק ענגליש-יידיש ווערטערבוך (באזירט אויף די לעקסישע זאמלונגען פון מרדכי שעכטער)
Also known as: CEYD
Also known as: Comprehensive English-Yiddish dictionary online
HTML title metatag: English-Yiddish dictionary
Title on home page graphic: Searchable online version of the Comprehensive English-Yiddish dictionary
Other formats
Print version: Comprehensive English-Yiddish dictionary (based on the lexical research of Mordkhe Schaechter). Bloomington : Indiana University Press, [2016]
Format
Databases / Online
Language
English; Yiddish
Added to Catalog
March 16, 2023
Subjects
Genre/Form
Multilingual dictionaries.
Dictionaries.
Multilingual dictionaries.
Also listed under
League for Yiddish, contributor.
Bookmark As
Citation
