Databases Search Results
Dictionary of Old English ..
Title
Dictionary of Old English ...
Edition
Online ed.
Publication
Toronto : Dictionary of Old English Project, University of Toronto
Physical Description
1 online resource
Extent
Began in 2007?
Local Notes
Primary remote access for Yale University authorized users is through EZproxy; resource may also be accessed through Yale's Virtual Private Network (VPN).
Access is available to the Yale community.
Notes
Editors, <2007>-<2018>: Angus Cameron, Ashley Crandell Amos, Antonette diPaolo Healey.
The 2018 release includes letters A to I. Future releases will expand to cover subsequent letters of the alphabet.
Description based on contents viewed on January 17, 2019; title from home page.
Access and use
Access restricted by licensing agreement.
Summary
The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) comprises the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language. The DOE complements the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100 - 1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary (which documents the development of the English language to the present), the three together providing a full description of the vocabulary of English. The DOE draws on a wide range of texts (in date, dialect, and genre).
Variant and related titles
DOEonline
DOE
Other formats
Also issued on CD-ROM and microfiche.
Format
Databases / Online
Language
English; English, Old (ca. 450-1100)
Added to Catalog
March 31, 2008
Subjects
Genre/Form
Databases.
Dictionaries.
Also listed under
University of Toronto, issuing body.
Bookmark As
Citation
