Databases Search Results
The grand tour
Uniform Title
Grand tour (Marlborough, England)
Title
The grand tour [electronic resource], 1550-1915 1700-1820.
Published
Marlborough, England : Adam Matthew Digital, c2009.
Physical Description
1 online resource
Local Notes
Primary remote access for Yale University authorized users is through EZproxy; resource may also be accessed through Yale's Virtual Private Network (VPN).
Access is available to the Yale community.
Notes
Title from home page (viewed on 8 Oct. 2009)
Includes materials by or about: Joseph Addison, David Allan (1744-1796), Thomas Banks, Giuseppe Marco Antonio Baretti, Pompeo Batoni, Mary Berry (1763-1852), Sir Charles Blagden, Robert Browning, Dr Charles Burney, William Callow, John Robert Cozens, Baroness Elizabeth Berkeley Craven, Robert Dallington, Nathaniel Dance, Michel de Montaigne, John Evelyn, J. Fenimore Cooper, John Flaxman, Sir William Hamilton, Sir Thomas Hoby, Thomas Jones (1742-1803), Richard Lassels, Edward Lear, William Marlow (1740-1813), John Stuart Mill, Jacob More, William Pars, Thomas Patch, Joshua Reynolds, Henry Crabb Robinson, Thomas Rowlandson, Sir Philip Sidney, Tobias Smollett, Joseph Spence, Mariana Starke, Henry Swinburne, Francis Towne, J.M.W. Turner, Joseph Wright, of Derby, Richard Wilson (1713-1782); and various members of the Society of Dilettanti.
Reproduced from original materials held in the following repositories: Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University; British Institute, Florence; British Library; Centre for Buckinghamshire Studies; Cornwall Record Office; Devon Record Office; Hartley Library, University of Southampton; Private Library of Edward Chaney; Surrey History Centre; West Yorkshire Archive; Woodhorn Northumberland Museum and Archive; Yale Center for British Art; Birmingham Museums and Art Gallery.
Access and use
Access restricted by licensing agreement.
Summary
The Grand tour includes manuscripts, visual, and printed works that explore the history of British travel in Europe between 1550 and 1850. The material includes letters, diaries and journals, account books, printed guidebooks, published travel writing, paintings and sketches, architectural drawings and maps. It also provides information about daily life in the eighteenth century, highlighting issues as politics, religion, transportation, money, communications, food and drink, health and sex.
Format
Databases / Online
Language
English
Added to Catalog
November 12, 2009
Subjects
Also listed under
Bookmark As
Citation
