Books+ Search Results

Pelican girls : a novel

Title
Pelican girls : a novel / Julia Malye.
ISBN
9780063299757
0063299755
9780063299771
Edition
First edition.
Publication
New York, NY : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2024]
Physical Description
354 pages : map ; 24 cm
Summary
"For fans of sweeping historical literature in the vein of Philipp Meyer's The Son or Min Jin Lee's Pachinko, an extraordinary US literary debut set in Paris and colonial New Orleans and based on a true story, about three of the 88 young women-among them an orphan, a madwoman, and an abortionist-who were deported to the Louisiana Territory as brides"-- Provided by publisher.
Paris, 1720. La Salpêtrière hospital is in too many occupants, not enough beds. Halfway across the world, France's colony in the wilds of North America has space to spare and needs families to fill it. So the director of the hospital rounds up nearly a hundred female "volunteers" of childbearing age--orphans, prisoners, and mental patients--to be shipped to New Orleans. Among this group are three unlikely a sharp-tongued twelve-year old orphan, a mute 'madwoman,' and an accused abortionist. Charlotte, Pétronille, and Geneviève, along with the dozens of other women aboard La Baleine, have no knowledge of what lies ahead and no control over their futures. Strangers brought together by fate, these brave and fierce young women will face extraordinary adversity--pirates, slavedrivers, sickness, war--but also the private trauma of heartbreak and unrequited love, children born and lost, cruelty and unexpected pleasure, and a friendship forged in fire that will sustain through the years. At once a gorgeously written work of startling depth and emotion and a gripping drama marrying high-seas adventure with pioneer grit, Pelican Girls is a powerful, thought-provoking novel about female friendship and desire and the daunting compromises women are forced to make to survive.
Other formats
Online version: Malye, Julia. Pelican girls. First edition. New York : Harper, 2024
Format
Books
Language
English
Added to Catalog
May 10, 2024
Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references.
Citation

Available from:

Loading holdings.
Unable to load. Retry?
Loading holdings...
Unable to load. Retry?