Databases Search Results

Eli Whitney papers

Title
Eli Whitney papers.
Publication
Farmington Hills, Mich. : Gale, a Cengage Company, 2023.
Physical Description
1 online resource (185 manuscripts) : illustrations, plans
Local Notes
Primary remote access for Yale University authorized users is through EZproxy; resource may also be accessed through Yale's Virtual Private Network (VPN).
Access is available to the Yale community.
Notes
Date range of documents: 1716-1959.
Reproduction of the originals from Yale University Libraries.
Chiefly in English with some materials in other (chiefly European) languages.
Access and use
Access restricted by licensing agreement.
Summary
"The Eli Whitney Papers consist of correspondence and business papers relating to Eli Whitney's invention and patenting of the cotton gin and to his subsequent development of a system to produce firearms employing interchangeable parts. The papers include drawings for machinery, land records relating to the acquisition of property for Whitney's factory site, patents and other documents relating to the protection of Whitney's inventions, and account books and other financial and legal records relating to business and investments. The papers also document the continuing manufacture of guns at Whitney's factory after his death in 1825, under the management of his estate and later of his son Eli Whitney. In addition, the papers include personal papers of Eli Whitney and other family members. The papers also include photocopies of documents relating to Eli Whitney located in other repositories including the Connecticut Historical Society, the Harvard College Library, the Massachusetts Historical Society, the National Archives, the New Haven Colony Historical Society, and the New York Historical Society. Additional photocopies of Whitney material from the Baldwin Family Papers, the Blake Family Papers, the Hillhouse Family Papers, and the Josiah Whitney Papers in the Manuscripts and Archives Department are also included in the papers"--Opening screen.
Variant and related titles
Also known as: Eli Whitney Papers digital archive
Other formats
Microfilm version: Whitney, Eli, 1765-1825. Eli Whitney papers, 1716-1959
Format
Databases / Online
Language
English; Multiple languages
Added to Catalog
June 17, 2024
Series
Archives unbound.
Archives unbound
Genre/Form
Databases.
Business correspondence.
Primary sources.
Records (Documents)
Also listed under
Whitney, Eli, 1765-1825.
Yale University. Library, owner.
Citation

Available from:

Loading holdings.
Unable to load. Retry?
Loading holdings...
Unable to load. Retry?