Databases Search Results
International women's periodicals, 1786-1933 : social and political issues
Title
International women's periodicals, 1786-1933 : social and political issues.
Publication
[Farmington Hills, Mich.] : Gale, Cengage Learning, [2012]-
Physical Description
1 online resource (103,870 images)
Local Notes
Primary remote access for Yale University authorized users is through EZproxy; resource may also be accessed through Yale's Virtual Private Network (VPN).
Access is available to the Yale community.
Notes
Date range of documents: 1786-1933.
Reproduction of the originals from various libraries.
Chiefly in English with some Icelandic, German, and French.
A re-publication of the former Primary Source Media/Gale Online collection entitled International Women's Periodicals. The content of this collection and the former were selected from the Women's Periodicals, 18th Century to the Great Depression microfilm product, published by Research Publications (Primary Source Microfilm/Gale).
Description based on online resource; title from collection description page (viewed on November 1, 2016).
Last viewed March 25, 2020.
Contained in (manifestation): Archives unbound
Access and use
Access restricted by licensing agreement.
Summary
"Historical women's periodicals provide an important resource to scholars interested in the lives of women, the role of women in society and, in particular, the development of the public lives of women as the push for women's rights--woman suffrage, fair pay, better working conditions, for example--grew in the United States and England. Some of the titles in this collection were conceived and published by men, for women; others, conceived and published by male editors with strong input from female assistant editors or managers; others were conceived and published by women, for women. The strongest suffrage and anti-suffrage writing was done by women for women's periodicals. Thus a variety of viewpoints are here presented for study"--Opening screen.
In
Contained in (manifestation): Archives unbound|DELIM|
Variant and related titles
International women's periodicals : social and political issues
Also known as: Women's periodicals, social and political issues
Format
Databases / Online
Language
English; German; Icelandic
Added to Catalog
January 08, 2015
Series
Archives unbound
Subjects
Genre/Form
Sources.
Databases.
Periodicals.
Databases.
Periodicals.
Bookmark As
Citation
