Translations of the Peking gazette online

Databases Search Results

Uniform Title

Jing bao. Selections. English

京報. Selections. English

Title

Translations of the Peking gazette online / compiled by Dr. Lane J. Harris, Furman University.

ISSN

2542-5412

Publication

Leiden ; Boston : Brill

Physical Description

1 online resource

Extent

Began in 2017.

Local Notes

Primary remote access for Yale University authorized users is through EZproxy; resource may also be accessed through Yale's Virtual Private Network (VPN).

Access is available to the Yale community.

Notes

Description based on publisher's website and version of resource viewed on December 1, 2017.

Access and use

Access restricted by licensing agreement.

Summary

Translations of the Peking gazette online is a database of previously-published English translations of official edicts and memorials from nineteenth century China's Qing dynasty, spanning from the Macartney Mission in 1793 to the abdication of the last emperor in 1912. Contains the voices of Manchu emperors, Han officials, gentry leaders, and peasant spokesmen as they discussed and debated political, social, and cultural movements, trends, and events of their day. It provides perspectives of the officials and the worldviews of the Han, Mongol, Manchu, Muslim, and Tibetan subjects of the Great Qing Empire.

Variant and related titles

Peking gazette online

BrillOnline primary sources.

Format

Databases / Journals & Newspapers / Online

Language

English; Chinese

Added to Catalog

November 30, 2017

Bibliography

Includes bibliography of source materials of the translations.