Databases Search Results
Confidential print. Africa, 1834-1966
Title
Confidential print. Africa, 1834-1966 [electronic resource], 1642-1966 1842-1963.
Published
Marlborough, England : Adam Matthew Digital, c2012.
Physical Description
1 online resource
Local Notes
Primary remote access for Yale University authorized users is through EZproxy; resource may also be accessed through Yale's Virtual Private Network (VPN).
Access is available to the Yale community.
Notes
Title from Introduction page (viewed on 16 July, 2012)
At head of title: Archives Direct, sources from the National Archives, UK.
Files included in this section: CO 879 (1642-1961), CO 885 (1906-1947), CO 886 (1887-1926), DO 114 (1924-1947), DO 116 (1913-1944), DO 201 (1949-1966), FO 341 (1884-1900), FO 401 (1846-1956), FO 403 (1834-1959), FO 413 (1839-1957), FO 458 (1882-1950), FO 468 (1945-1949), FO 485 (1947-1949), FO 540 (1951-1956), WO 287 (1905-1944)
Includes material relating to the following people: Abd El-Kader ibn Muhieddine; Herbert Asquith, 1st Earl of Oxford and Asquith; Clement Attlee; Stanley Baldwin, 1st Earl Baldwin of Bewdley; Arhtur Balfour, 1st Earl of Balfour; Hastings Banda; Sir Henry Barkly; Otto von Bismarck; Louis Botha; Habib Bourguiba; Cetshwayo; Neville Chamberlain; Sir Winston Churchill; Arthur Creech Jones; George Curzon, 1st Marquess Curzon of Kedleston; Benjamin Disraeli, 1st Earl of Beaconsfield; Sir Anthony Eden, 1st Earl of Avon; Sir Henry Bartle Frere; Mohandas (Mahatma) Gandhi; William Gladstone; Major General Charles George Gordon ('Gordon of Khartoum'); Haile Selassie; Sir Walter Hely-Hutchinson; Godfrey Huggins,1st Viscount Malvern; Kenneth Kaunda; Jomo Kenyatta; (Stephanus) Paul Kruger; Leopold II of Belgium; David Livingstone; David Lloyd George,1st Earl Lloyd-George of Dwyfor; Sir Frederick Lugard, 1st Baron Lugard; Patrice Lumumba; Harold Macmillan, 1st Earl of Stockton; Daniel Malan; Alfred Milner, Viscount Milner; Kwame Nkrumah; Henry Temple Palmerston, 3rd Viscount; Andries Pretorius; Cecil Rhodes; Sir Hercules Robinson, 1st Baron Rosemead; Sir Theophilus Shepstone; Jan Smuts; Sir Henry Stanley; Johannes Strijdom; Sir (Reginald) Garfield Todd; Moïshe Tshombe; Hendrik Verwoerd; Sir Garnet Wolseley, 1st Viscount Wolseley.
Includes documents concerning political and diplomatic activity in relation to the following topics: administration, agriculture, apartheid, army, big game, boundaries, British Empire, cash crops, chartered companies, chiefs, Christianity, commodities, British Commonwealth, communism, constitutions, democracy, diamonds, diplomacy, disease, education, exploration, forced labour, foreign policy, forts, gold, hunting, imperialism, independence, industry, medicine, migration, mining, missionaries, nationalism, oil, peasantry, political parties, railways, race relations, revolts, slavery, Suez Canal, trade, trade unions, treaties, treks, tribes, universities, war, League of Nations, United Nations.
National Archives, Kew
Access and use
Access restricted by licensing agreement.
Summary
Confidential print, Africa brings together documents relating to events in Africa generated by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices from 1834 to 1966. It includes files, letters, telegrams, treaties, and other texts on most countries and territories of Africa.
Variant and related titles
Africa, 1834-1966
Format
Databases / Online
Language
English
Added to Catalog
February 22, 2013
Subjects
Also listed under
Great Britain. Colonial Office.
Great Britain. Dominions Office.
Great Britain. Office of Commonwealth Relations.
Great Britain. War Office.
National Archives (Great Britain)
Adam Matthew Digital (Firm)
Bookmark As
Citation
